Final Project

Brainstorming:

Form.pngForm.pngForm 2.png

Week 1 (once approved):

  • Rhino Files
  • Schedule Laser cutting time for prototyping

Week 2:

  • Iterations
  • have at least a cardboard prototype by 4/26

Week 3:

  • Final iteration done
  • Documentation

Introduction:

Artist Statement (200 word):

Laser cut game “box” with interchangeable boards and drawer to hold games and game pieces in. I think it would be a cool idea to harness my laser cutting skills to build a 3D usable object. The box would be taken for traveling, or just for a neatly stored gaming box for a living room, common area.

My inspiration for this project came from the millions of game board games you might have around your house and have a centralized place to play them on. Although this one only has around 6 faces for a plethora different games, you can expand it at your will with new boards. I wanted it to be expandable and not be limited, which many all-in-one boxes currently do. I built upon that idea into something that will be future proof (well as long as we use physical gaming boards and not switch completely over to something like an iPad) and be fun for a family setting or a get together with friends.

One downside I can see to this design is if I don’t figure out a way to secure the boards, some may get lost into the depths of someones house. In the future, I may add a hinge to the boards to fold out, but I would really have to brainstorm and think that idea through to maintain expandability. But everything is a Cost-Benefit Analysis, right? I ran into a few issues throughout this project, namely having my rhino files accurate enough through the prototyping phase, but with my two prototypes I was able to clear that up quickly.


Materials:

Clear Acrylic .118 in.

Medium Density Fiberboard .216 in.

Access to Laser Cutter


Prototyping:


Prototype 1:

Rhino:

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 9.13.32 AM.png

Laser:

IMG_5777

Prototype:
IMG_5778IMG_5779

What I learn from this prototype was that not a fan of using cardboard that is way too big. Also that finger joints are annoying to work with prototypes.

I learned that my dimensions were wayyyy off, so It gave me a chance to figure out that problem and fix it in a timely manner.


Prototype 2:

Rhino:

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 10.39.38 AM.png

Prototype:

IMG_5799.jpgIMG_5800.jpgIMG_5801.jpg

What I learned from this prototype is that the size is perfect, just the thickness of the material is not what I envisioned, so I switched it from 1/8th to 1/4th of an inch to give it a sturdier feel.


Final:

Rhino:

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 3.29.44 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-05-03 at 3.29.44 PM.png.png

Laser:
IMG_5817.jpg
Laser cutting the first section
IMG_5818.jpg
Chinese Checkers
IMG_5823.jpg
Outer Box with rocket ship design
IMG_5819.jpg
Had to go to ITLL for this one, ran out of time in the BTU lab. These laser cuttings were a lot more manual and I had to mess round with different speeds and power to get the right etch and cut
IMG_5827.jpg
Sanding down the edges of the box, so the glue would hold on to a rougher surface
IMG_5830.jpg
Gluing my custom Moon and Sun checker pieces

 

Final Pictures:

IMG_5870.jpg
Final Checker piece, you can still see the glue which I am not happy about. In a future iteration I would fix this.
IMG_5869.jpg
Space themed backgammon, pull out the draw and you have a surface for both boards
IMG_5871.jpg
A little roughed up, but checker pieces on the chess board! woo!
IMG_5872.jpg
Pegs to keep it supported off the ground
IMG_5873.jpg
Handle for the drawer

IMG_5874.jpg

Conclusion and final thoughts:

I loved this project, it taught me fabrication in the ways of rhino, laser cutting, gluing, drilling, etc. It was a very enjoyable project. I really wish I had more time to clean up the edges and maybe stain the wood I was working with, but overall very decent!

 

Leave a Reply

